An Enhanced Design Flow for Cavity Combline Filters

Online
Jul 23, 2019

Date 
July 23, 2019

Time
9:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. ET
4:00 p.m. GMT

Fee
Free (advance registration required)

Presented by
Daniel G. Swanson, Jr., DGS Associates

Overview
This webinar presents an enhanced flow for the design of cavity combline filters that uses optimization rather than synthesis technology. A cross-coupled filter with calibrated port tuning design example is presented. While synthesis is excellent for developing the initial design phase and generating mathematical filter solutions as lumped or ideal distributed networks, its abilities are limited for developing an accurate physically-realizable filter. The method discussed in this webinar is based on a technique introduced by Dishal and adapted by the presenter for use with modern circuit and electromagnetic (EM) simulation. 

Presenter Bio
Dan Swanson received his BSEE from University of Illinois in 1976 and his MSEE from the University of Michigan in 1978. He's served for many years on the editorial board of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques and the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters. Dan has published numerous technical papers, has presented many workshops and short courses, and holds two patents. He has been teaching courses on EM simulation and filter design in the U.S. and Europe since 1995 and is the principal author of Microwave Circuit Modeling Using Electromagnetic Field Simulation, published by Artech House. Dan established DGS Associates in 2015 after more than four decades as a design engineer, with expertise in high-Q filters and multiplexers for commercial applications, broadband thin-film filters for EW systems, and PCB filters using standard surface mount components for the microwave industry.