Webinar: Addressing Instability in Wide Bandwidth High Power Amplifiers

Dec 4, 2019

Date/Time
Dec 4
9 a.m. PT/ 12:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. GMT 

Presenter
Dominic FitzPatrick
Ametek-CTS   

Fee
Free (advance registration required)   

Overview
Addressing stability in power amplifiers (PAs) over wide bandwidths is one of the biggest challenges that RFPA designers must overcome. Standard techniques include adding resistive (lossy) elements, however in PAs these must be used carefully, both in terms of heat dissipation and reduction of amplifier efficiency. PAs connected directly to antennas face additional stability issues in that the antenna load impedance can vary considerably. A variety of potential oscillating modes present additional challenges, requiring different simulation strategies to ensure that all of the modes are addressed. This webinar presents the use of stability analysis techniques to identify potential instability in a 200-W PA and design techniques to stabilize the amplifier.

Presenter Bio
Dr. Dominic FitzPatrick has been involved with the design of solid state RF & microwave amplifiers for over 30 years. He holds a B.Sc. and an M.Sc. in solid state microwave physics from the University of Portsmouth, England, and a Ph.D. from Cardiff University, Wales. He has been the Technical Director of two UK companies designing and manufacturing RF/microwave frequency, Solid-State PAs (SSPAs) and in 2010 he started PoweRFul Microwave, a consultancy specializing in SSPAs. In April 2019 Dr. FitzPatrick joined Ametek-CTS as the Head of their Amplifier Development.
He is a co-author of 
The Handbook of RF and Microwave Power Amplifiers,
Cambridge University Press.